Regional Rail Link

Australian Government - Infrastructure InvestmentState of Victoria


Regional Rail Link site search

Footscray - Deer Park: Scope of works

  1. Major upgrade to Footscray railway station including new platforms adjacent to Irving Street, improved station entrance and forecourts incorporating escalators, ramps, lifts and stairs.
  2. Major bridge works at Hopkins Street, Nicholson Street, Albert Street, Victoria Street, Ashley Street and Stony Creek.
  3. Rebuild of West Footscray station, including ramps, lifts and stairs.
  4. Improvements to the entrance, forecourt and an additional 100 car parking spaces at Tottenham station.
  5. Laying of new track over 7.5 kilometres from Footscray to Sunshine.
  6. Rebuild of Sunshine station including a new platform and pedestrian overpass, improved station entrance, ramps and forecourts, lifts and stairs.
  7. Replacement of HV McKay Memorial Gardens footbridge.
  8. Removal of two level crossings at Anderson Road.
  9. Upgrading of existing pedestrian crossings at Sydney Street, Adelaide Street, Young Street and Tower Street.
  10. Improvement works to level crossings at Fitzgerald Road (Ardeer), Mt Derrimut Road and Robinsons Road (Deer Park).
  11. Modifications to the metropolitan signalling system from Footscray to Sunshine (not illustrated).

A map showing the Footscray - Deer Park project area and the features described above

Community Reference Group

Did you know?

The Community Reference Group provides feedback to the project from residents, interest and industry groups, and businesses.

Read more about the Community Reference Group

Back to top

Website sections

Page last reviewed 07 August 2014
Copyright © 2014, Department of Transport, Planning and Local Infrastructure, State Government of Victoria, Australia.